DomainSecondhand.com Domain Name Scam?

December 4th, 2009

DomainSecondHand.Com is merely a parked page type of site yet an individual(s) have been sending out various emails claiming to represent said domain as a business interested in purchasing your domain name.  Here is an email we personally received today:

Hello,

Our company invests in Internet projects and domain  names.  What is your price for the domain name?

If you have other domains for sale feel free to send your list.

Looking forward to do business with you.

Regards,

Scott Withrow

CEO

Domain Investing & Reselling

After doing an internet search we were led to these forums and blogs discussing their interactions with the person sending out these emails:

http://scammerdomainsecondhand.blogspot.com/

http://www.namepros.com/warnings-and-alerts/401699-domainsecondhand-com-is-a-scam.html

http://www.ripoffreport.com/Internet-Fraud/EasyNameSale-com/easynamesale-com-domainsecon-ddf44.htm

Doing a search for “domainsecondhand.com” on Google will reveal a slew of damning results.  In my personal experience it is almost an impossibility that anyone would contact you out of the blue with interest in your domain name.  Please make you own judgment on whether you believe this is a scam or not.  We here at legalinvestigations.com decided not to reply to the email.